Skip to main content
29 Oct 2020 | 10:15 PM UTC

Sweden: Authorities extend travel ban for non-EU residents until December 22 /update 11

Swedish authorities extend travel ban for non-EU residents until December 22; follow government directives



Swedish authorities announced on Thursday, October 29, that the current ban on the entry of non-EU residents, originally due to end on October 31, has been extended until December 22 in an effort to curb the spread of the coronavirus disease (COVID-19). Exemptions to the ban remain in place, including individuals from Australia, Georgia, Japan, New Zealand, Rwanda, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia, and Uruguay. A full list of exemptions can be found here.

Additionally, Swedish authorities have banned public gatherings of more than 50 people and encourage people to work from home when possible. Face masks are not required in public areas and there are currently no domestic travel restrictions in place.

As of Thursday, October 29, health authorities have confirmed a total of 121,167 COVID-19 cases with 5934 associated deaths. Further spread of the virus is expected in the near term.


The first case of COVID-19 was reported on December 31 and the source of the outbreak has been linked to a wet market in Wuhan (Hubei province, China). Since then, human-to-human transmission of the virus has been confirmed.

Cases of the virus have been confirmed in numerous countries and territories worldwide. On March 11, the World Health Organization (WHO) declared the global outbreak a pandemic. Virus-screening and quarantining measures are being implemented at airports worldwide, as well as extensive travel restrictions.

The most common symptoms of COVID-19 are fever, dry cough, and tiredness. Some patients may experience other symptoms such as body pains, nasal congestion, headache, conjunctivitis, sore throat, diarrhea, loss of taste or smell or a rash on skin or discoloration of fingers or toes. These symptoms (in most cases mild) appear gradually. Generally, most patients (around 80 percent) recover from the disease without being hospitalized.


Measures adopted by local authorities evolve quickly and are usually effective immediately. Depending on the evolution of the outbreak in other countries, authorities are likely to modify, at very short notice, the list of countries whose travelers are subject to border control measures or entry restrictions upon their arrival to the territory in question. It is advised to postpone nonessential travel due to the risk that travelers may be refused entry or be subject to quarantine upon their arrival or during their stay.

To reduce the risk of COVID-19 transmission, travelers are advised to abide by the following measures:

  • Frequently clean hands by applying an alcohol-based hand rub or washing with soap and water.
  • When coughing and sneezing, cover mouth and nose with a flexed elbow or tissue; if used, throw the tissue away immediately and wash hands.
  • If experiencing a fever, cough, difficulty breathing, or any other symptoms suggestive of respiratory illness, including pneumonia, call emergency services before going to the doctor or hospital to prevent the potential spread of the virus.

For unlimited access to Crisis24 security alerts, simply register for free.

2 free alert views remaining this 30-day period
Register for Free Already registered? Sign-in