Skip to main content
20 Mar 2020 | 08:06 AM UTC

South Africa: Authorities add Switzerland to travel ban list March 20 /update 2

Authorities add Switzerland to their travel ban list March 20 amid COVID-19 outbreak; confirm travel itineraries



On Friday, March 20, authorities added Switzerland to their travel ban list over concerns regarding the coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic. The countries impacted by the restrictions are France, Switzerland, Italy, Iran, South Korea, Spain, Germany, the United States, the United Kingdom, and China.

As of Friday, March 20, it remains unclear how long the ban will be in effect for.

Citizens from France, Switzerland, Italy, Iran, South Korea, Spain, Germany, the United States, the United Kingdom, and China who have entered the country since mid-February will be required to present themselves to authorities for testing.

Travelers from Hong Kong, Portugal, and Singapore are subjected to intense health screening upon arrival on South African territory.

As of Friday, March 20, there are 116 confirmed COVID-19 cases nationwide. Further international spread of the virus is expected in the near term.


The first case of COVID-19 was reported on December 31 and the source of the outbreak has been linked to a wet market in Wuhan (Hubei province, China). Human-to-human and patient-to-medical staff transmission of the virus have been confirmed. Many of the associated fatalities have been due to pneumonia caused by the virus.

Cases of the virus have been confirmed in numerous countries and territories worldwide. Virus-screening and quarantining measures are being implemented at airports worldwide, as well as extensive travel restrictions. On March 11, the World Health Organization (WHO) declared the global outbreak a pandemic.

Pneumonia symptoms include dry cough, chest pain, fever, and labored breathing. Pneumonia can be contagious and can be transmitted from human to human. The influenza virus, or the flu, is a common cause of viral pneumonia.


Measures adopted by local authorities evolve quickly and are usually effective immediately. Depending on the evolution of the outbreak in other countries, authorities are likely to modify, at very short notice, the list of countries whose travelers are subject to border control measures or entry restrictions upon their arrival to the territory in question. It is advised to postpone nonessential travel due to the risk that travelers may be refused entry or be subject to quarantine upon their arrival or during their stay.

To reduce the risk of COVID-19 transmission, travelers are advised to abide by the following measures:

  • Frequently clean hands by applying an alcohol-based hand rub or washing with soap and water.
  • When coughing and sneezing, cover mouth and nose with a flexed elbow or tissue; if used, throw the tissue away immediately and wash hands.
  • If experiencing a fever, cough, and difficulty breathing, seek medical care urgently and share your previous travel history with your health care provider.