Skip to main content
02 Dec 2019 | 02:06 PM UTC

US: Severe winter storm impacting Northeast region as of December 2

State of emergency declared in seven New York state counties as major winter storm impacts Northeast region December 2; significant transportation disruptions reported



New York state Governor Andrew Cuomo declared a state of emergency in seven counties on Monday, December 2, amid a severe winter storm impacting the northeastern United States. The state of emergency is in effect for Albany, Columbia, Greene, Rensselaer, Schenectady, Saratoga, and Ulster counties. The storm is expected to bring 25-50 cm (10-20 in) of snow to parts of the region by Tuesday morning (local time), December 3. Hundreds of schools were closed throughout New England on Monday, and more than 450 flights into or out of the US were canceled, with more than 2300 delays reported. The storm has also caused significant transportation disruptions; more than 740 storm-related crashes have been reported across New York state since the snow started falling on Sunday, December 1. Many regional buses have reportedly canceled services, and lower speed limits have been instituted on stretches of highway in New York, New Jersey, and Pennsylvania states. 

Associated power outages and disruptions to transportation and business services are possible in areas forecast to be affected by the system over the coming days.


Individuals in areas forecast to be affected by the storm are advised to monitor local weather reports, prepare for winter weather, and anticipate transportation disruptions, including flight delays and adverse driving conditions, and power outages.