Skip to main content
25 Mar 2020 | 09:34 AM UTC

Switzerland: Government extends entry restrictions to all Schengen states March 25 /update 5

Switzerland extends entry restrictions to all Schengen states March 25; confirm travel itineraries



On Wednesday, March 25, the Swiss government extended its entry restrictions to all Schengen states to prevent further spread of coronavirus disease (COVID-19). Entry restrictions were previously in place for Italy, France, Germany, Austria, Spain, and all non-Schengen states. Citizens of Switzerland and Liechtenstein, individuals with a Swiss residence permit, and people whose travel to Switzerland is work related or because of an emergency will still be allowed to enter the country. Travelers may transit through Switzerland and the movement of goods will not be affected. These restrictions apply to flights and entry at land borders.

As of March 25, there have been 10,456 confirmed cases of COVID-19 in Switzerland, including 145 associated fatalities. Further international spread of the virus is expected over the coming days and weeks.


The first case of COVID-19 was reported on December 31 and the source of the outbreak has been linked to a wet market in Wuhan (Hubei province, China). Human-to-human and patient-to-medical staff transmission of the virus have been confirmed. Many of the associated fatalities have been due to pneumonia caused by the virus.

Cases of the virus have been confirmed in numerous countries and territories worldwide. Virus-screening and quarantining measures are being implemented at airports worldwide, as well as extensive travel restrictions. On March 11, the World Health Organization (WHO) declared the global outbreak a pandemic.

Pneumonia symptoms include dry cough, chest pain, fever, and trouble breathing. Pneumonia can be contagious and can be transmitted from human to human. The influenza virus, or the flu, is a common cause of viral pneumonia. 


Measures adopted by local authorities evolve quickly and are usually effective immediately. Depending on the evolution of the outbreak in other countries, authorities are likely to modify, at very short notice, the list of countries whose travelers are subject to border control measures or entry restrictions upon their arrival to the territory in question. It is advised to postpone nonessential travel due to the risk that travelers may be refused entry or be subject to quarantine upon their arrival or during their stay.

To reduce the risk of transmission, travelers are advised to abide by the following measures:  

  • Frequently clean hands by applying an alcohol-based hand rub or washing with soap and water.
  • When coughing and sneezing, cover mouth and nose with a flexed elbow or tissue; if used, throw the tissue away immediately and wash hands.
  • If experiencing a fever, cough, difficulty breathing, or any other symptoms suggestive of respiratory illness, including pneumonia, call emergency services before going to the doctor or hospital to prevent the potential spread of the disease.