Skip to main content
03 Feb 2020 | 06:47 AM UTC

US: Six countries added to the existing travel ban list January 31 /update 8

Government adds six countries to list of states whose citizens are banned from entering US territory January 31; associated protests expected



On Friday, January 31, President Donald Trump added Kyrgyzstan, Eritrea, Myanmar, Nigeria, Sudan, and Tanzania to the "travel ban list." Citizens from these six countries are banned from travel to the US until further notice. However, according to government officials, the measure will affect "limited categories" of individuals while tourist and business travelers will be not be impacted by the restriction.

The total number of countries on the list rises to 13 with Iran, Libya, Somalia, Syria, and Yemen, and North Korea previously added in June 2019.

Associated protests are likely in the coming days.  


Potentially-affected travelers are advised to keep abreast of the situation and to contact their nearest US Embassy or Consulate for further details regarding visa and entry requirements. Those already in the US who may be affected by the ban are advised to contact their respective diplomatic mission for more information.