Skip to main content
11 Dec 2019 | 05:54 AM UTC

Thailand: State of emergency extended in southern border provinces through March 19

The National Security Council extends state of emergency for three months in southern border provinces as of December 20



On Tuesday, December 10, the National Security Council (NSC) announced that the ongoing state of emergency in the southern border provinces of Yala, Pattani, and Narathiwat will be extended for three months, except for the Mae Lan (Pattani), Betong (Yala), Su-ngai Kolok, Sukhirin, and Si Sakhon (Narathiwat) districts.The end of the state of emergency will now last through Thursday, March 19, 2020.

This will be the 58th extension to the state of emergency since it was declared in October 2005.


The separatist insurgency in Thailand's three Muslim-majority southern border provinces - Pattani, Yala, and Narathiwat - has claimed more than 6800 lives since it first began operating 13 years ago, with both militants and Thailand's military accused of human rights abuses. Low-intensity bombings and assassinations often occur in the region, which is heavily patrolled by soldiers and police.


Individuals in the area are advised to monitor the situation, follow instructions issued by the local authorities, and remain vigilant.

As a reminder, most Western governments advise against nonessential travel to Pattani, Yala, and Narathiwat, as well as the province of Songkhla and areas along the Cambodia and Myanmar borders due to the presence of armed militias.