Skip to main content
05 Dec 2019 | 08:00 PM UTC

Australia: V/Line workers in Victoria to strike December 11-20

V/Line workers plan a series of strikes from December 11-20; significant rail service disruptions anticipated throughout Victoria state



The Rail, Tram and Bus Union (RTBU) in Victoria state announced on Tuesday, December 3, that V/Line regional rail workers will hold a series of strikes from Wednesday, December 11, through Friday, December 20. Union members voted 98 percent in favor of the industrial actions to call for a 6 percent pay increase over the next three years. Up to 600 V/Line drivers, station staff, and train controllers are expected to participate in the work stoppages.

RTBU members will hold 24-hour strikes on the following days and lines:

  • December 11 – Bendigo and Swan Hill lines
  • December 12 – Ararat, Maryborough, and Ballarat lines
  • December 17 – Traralgon and Bairnsdale lines
  • December 18 – Albury, Seymour, and Shepparton lines
  • December 19 – Warrnambool and Geelong lines

Overtime bans will also be in effect during the strikes. On Monday, December 16, conductors and drivers will perform 6-minute stoppages on all down trains from Southern Cross. Significant transportation disruptions, including train delays and cancelations, are expected during the strike period.


Potentially impacted travelers are advised to keep abreast of the situation, seek alternate modes of transportation, and anticipate disruptions and delays on railways in the coming days.