Skip to main content
16 Mar 2020 | 11:59 PM UTC

Turkey: Officials expand flight suspensions to 20 countries March 17 /update 7

Officials announce more flight suspensions affecting a total of 20 countries from March 17 due to COVID-19; confirm travel itineraries



Health Minister Fahrettin Koca announced on Monday, March 16, the expansion of flight bans to and from several countries due to coronavirus (COVID-19). Flights between Turkey and the UK, Ireland, Switzerland, Saudi Arabia, Egypt, and the UAE are suspended from 08:00 (local time) on Tuesday, March 17. This is in addition to flight suspensions between Germany, France, Spain, Norway, Denmark, Belgium, Austria, Sweden, and the Netherlands from Saturday, March 14, through Friday, April 17. Flights to and from China, Iran, Iraq, Italy, and South Korea also remain suspended. All individuals returning from the aforementioned countries will be required to undergo a 14-day quarantine. Border crossing points with Iran and Iraq remain closed. 

The Turkish Interior Ministry announced on Sunday, March 15, that all restaurants, bars, cafes, cinemas, and other entertainment venues will be closed nationwide from March 16, while schools and universities also remain closed. Officials have suspended public events and activities, including barring spectators at sports events and suspending congregational prayers in mosques nationwide.

The prime minister of Northern Cyprus announced on Monday that the presidential polls slated for Wednesday, April 29, will be postponed.

As of March 16, health officials have confirmed 47 cases of COVID-19 nationwide. Further spread of the virus is expected in the near term.


The first case of COVID-19 was reported on December 31 and the source of the outbreak has been linked to a wet market in Wuhan (Hubei province, China). Human-to-human and patient-to-medical staff transmission of the virus have been confirmed. Many of the associated fatalities have been due to pneumonia caused by the virus.

Cases of the virus have been confirmed in numerous countries and territories worldwide. Virus-screening and quarantining measures are being implemented at airports worldwide, as well as extensive travel restrictions. On March 11, the World Health Organization (WHO) declared the global outbreak a pandemic.

Pneumonia symptoms include dry cough, chest pain, fever, and labored breathing. Pneumonia can be contagious and can be transmitted from human to human. The influenza virus, or the flu, is a common cause of viral pneumonia. 


Measures adopted by local authorities evolve quickly, and are usually effective immediately. Depending on the evolution of the outbreak in other countries, authorities are likely to modify, at very short notice, the list of countries whose travelers are subject to border control measures or entry restrictions upon their arrival to the territory in question. It is advised to postpone nonessential travel due to the risk that travelers may be refused entry or be subject to quarantine upon their arrival or during their stay.

To reduce the risk of COVID-19 transmission, travelers are advised to abide by the following measures:

  • Frequently clean hands by applying an alcohol-based hand rub or washing with soap and water.  
  • When coughing and sneezing, cover mouth and nose with a flexed elbow or tissue; if used, throw the tissue away immediately and wash hands.  
  • If experiencing a fever, cough, difficulty breathing, or any other symptoms suggestive of respiratory illness, including pneumonia, call emergency services before going to the doctor or hospital to prevent the potential spread of the virus.