Skip to main content
14 Apr 2020 | 03:03 AM UTC

Armenia: Government extends state of emergency until May 14 /update 8

Armenian authorities extend state of emergency due to COVID-19 until May 14; further spread of the virus expected



On Monday, April 13, Deputy Prime Minister Tigran Avinyan announced an extension of the state of emergency until Thursday, May 14, to help curb the spread of coronavirus disease (COVID-19) in the country.

Armenia has been in a state of emergency since Monday, March 16, due to COVID-19, and the government has introduced measures to prevent further spread of the virus. The country's borders with Iran and Georgia remain closed, while all educational institutions are also suspended. Foreigners from countries heavily impacted by the virus will not be allowed entry to the country. Additionally, all gatherings of more than 20 people are banned.

Citizens leaving their homes need to complete and carry a standardized form about their movement and bring along a passport or ID card. Only essential businesses remain open, while restaurants and cafes are closed. Some businesses were allowed to resume work as of Monday, such as businesses that work with outdoor construction, engineering and scientific research, and other manufacturing processes. The restrictions on press coverage regarding the COVID-19 has also been lifted.

The government has encouraged the public to use online services wherever possible. In addition, all shops, pharmacies, and banks only serve senior citizens above 65-years-old from 10:00 to 12:00 (local time).

As of Tuesday, April 14, there have been more than 1000 confirmed cases of COVID-19 in Armenia, including 14 associated fatalities. Further international spread of the virus is expected over the coming days and weeks.


The first case of COVID-19 was reported on December 31 and the source of the outbreak has been linked to a wet market in Wuhan (Hubei province, China). Human-to-human and patient-to-medical staff transmission of the virus have been confirmed. Many of the associated fatalities have been due to pneumonia caused by the virus.

Cases of the virus have been confirmed in numerous countries and territories worldwide. Virus-screening and quarantining measures are being implemented at airports worldwide, as well as extensive travel restrictions. On March 11, the World Health Organization (WHO) declared the global outbreak a pandemic.

Pneumonia symptoms include dry cough, chest pain, fever, and labored breathing. Pneumonia can be contagious and can be transmitted from human to human. The influenza virus, or the flu, is a common cause of viral pneumonia.


Measures adopted by local authorities evolve quickly and are usually effective immediately. Depending on the evolution of the outbreak in other countries, authorities are likely to modify, at very short notice, the list of countries whose travelers are subject to border control measures or entry restrictions upon their arrival to the territory in question. It is advised to postpone nonessential travel due to the risk that travelers may be refused entry or be subject to quarantine upon their arrival or during their stay.

To reduce the risk of COVID-19 transmission, travelers are advised to abide by the following measures:

  • Frequently clean hands by using alcohol-based hand rub or washing with soap and water.
  • When coughing and sneezing, cover mouth and nose with a flexed elbow or tissue; if used, throw the tissue away immediately and wash hands.
  • If experiencing a fever, cough, difficulty breathing, or any other symptoms suggestive of respiratory illness, including pneumonia, call emergency services before going to the doctor or hospital to prevent the potential spread of the disease.