Skip to main content
12 Mar 2020 | 03:14 PM UTC

Kyrgyzstan: Country prohibits entry to travelers from France, Germany, and Spain over COVID-19 concerns March 12 /update 3

Kyrgyzstan prohibits entry to travelers from France, Germany, and Spain over coronavirus disease (COVID-19) concerns as of March 12, while removing restrictions on travelers from Japan; flight disruptions to be expected over the coming weeks



On Thursday, March 12, Kyrgyzstan prohibited the entry of travelers from France, Germany, and Spain over concerns regarding the spread of coronavirus disease (COVID-19). The Kyrgyz government also removed restrictions on travelers from Japan; individuals arriving from or transiting China, Iran, Italy, and South Korea en route to Kyrgyzstan are still required to be quarantined in specialized facilities for 14 days after arrival. No cases of COVID-19 have been confirmed in Kyrgyzstan as of Thursday.

Corresponding flight disruptions are to be expected over the coming weeks. Further international spread of the virus is to be expected over the near term.


The first case of COVID-19 was reported on December 31 and the source of the outbreak has been linked to a wet market in Wuhan (Hubei province, China). Human-to-human and patient-to-medical staff transmission of the virus have been confirmed. Many of the associated fatalities have been due to pneumonia caused by the virus.

Cases of the virus have been confirmed in numerous countries and territories worldwide. Virus-screening and quarantining measures are being implemented at airports worldwide, as well as extensive travel restrictions. On March 11, the World Health Organization (WHO) declared the global outbreak a pandemic.

Pneumonia symptoms include dry cough, chest pain, fever, and trouble breathing. Pneumonia can be contagious and can be transmitted from human to human. The influenza virus, or the flu, is a common cause of viral pneumonia.


Measures adopted by local authorities evolve quickly and are usually effective immediately. Depending on the evolution of the outbreak in other countries, authorities are likely to modify, at very short notice, the list of countries whose travelers are subject to border control measures or entry restrictions upon their arrival to the territory in question. It is advised to postpone nonessential travel due to the risk that travelers may be refused entry or be subject to quarantine upon their arrival or during their stay.

To reduce the risk of COVID-19 transmission, travelers are advised to abide by the following measures:

  • Frequently clean hands by applying an alcohol-based hand rub or washing with soap and water.
  • When coughing and sneezing, cover mouth and nose with a flexed elbow or tissue; if used, throw the tissue away immediately and wash hands.
  • If experiencing a fever, cough, difficulty breathing, or any other symptoms suggestive of respiratory illness, including pneumonia, call emergency services before going to the doctor or hospital to prevent the potential spread of the disease.