Skip to main content
12 Dec 2019 | 07:39 AM UTC

Myanmar: Travel restriction extended December 11

Authorities announce further travel restrictions for tourists in several locations across Rakhine, Kachin, Chin, Sagaing and Yangon Wednesday, December 11.



The Ministry of Hotel and Tourism announced on Wednesday, December 11, that travel restrictions for tourists will be extended to several areas in Rakhine, Kachin, Chin, Shan, Sagaing and Yangon regions for security reasons. The decision was reportedly triggered by the death of a German tourist in a landmine explosion in Shan state on Tuesday, November 26.

Restricted locations include Mrauk-U, Ponnagyun, Minbya (Rakhine), Paletwa, (Chin), Cocokyun (Yangon Region), Linkhae, Kyaing Taung, Moe-ne, Kyethi, Mine Shu, Mine Yan (Shan), Puta-o township, Pamatee, Nal Shel Kaw, Mone Ngu, San Dan, San Gaung, Wa Sam dam, and Ziyardam villages (Kachin).

Permission from local authorities is also required before visiting the Tike Tee, Tagar, Lone Mat, Ke San, Kyann Done, La Chan, Lone Yone, Kan Kaw, Tha Mann, Inn Pauk, Gone Done, Laythar Gone, Bu Taung, Nant Ar, Nant Khin, Nant Mar, Moe Tay, and Nar Nant Htun (Sagaing), and several areas in Mogok, Thabeikkyin, and Pyin Oo Lwin townships (Mandalay region).

A full list of restricted areas can be found on the government website here. 


Individuals in Myanmar, or planning to travel to the country, are advised to monitor the situation and confirm travel plans and visa requirements with relevant authorities.