Skip to main content
03 Feb 2020 | 04:44 PM UTC

Kyrgyzstan: Country included on expanded US travel ban list, with restrictions effective February 22

Kyrgyzstan included on expanded US travel ban list, with restrictions on eligibility for immigrant visas to US effective February 22; protests possible over the coming days



On Friday, January 31, the administration of US President Donald Trump extended its controversial list of nations subject to severe travel restrictions to 13 countries, newly including Nigeria, Myanmar, Eritrea, Kyrgyzstan, Sudan, and Tanzania. Nationals already subjected to restricted entry to the US include those from Iran, Libya, Somalia, Syria, Yemen, Venezuela, and North Korea. From Saturday, February 22, the US will suspend the issuance of immigrant visas, which can lead to permanent residency, for Kyrgyz nationals.

Associated protests are possible in Kyrgyzstan over the coming days.  


Potentially affected travelers are advised to keep abreast of the situation and to contact their nearest US embassy or consulate for further details regarding visa and entry requirements. Those already in the US who may be affected by the ban are advised to contact their respective diplomatic mission for more information.