Skip to main content
06 Dec 2018 | 07:01 AM UTC

India: Legislative Assembly elections in Rajasthan and Telangana Dec. 7

Legislative Assembly elections taking place on December 7 in Rajasthan and Telangana; remain vigilant



The Legislative Assembly elections will take place on Friday, December 7, in the Rajasthan and Telangana states. The voting is expected to begin at 08:00 (local time) and end at 17:00. The votes will be counted on December 11. A heightened security presence is to be anticipated at polling stations.


The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Congress are the main contenders in these elections for the 200 assembly constituencies in the Rajasthan state.

The Telangana assembly polls were scheduled to take place along with next year's Lok Sabha elections (lower house of India's bicameral Parliament). However, the chief minister of the state prematurely dissolved the assembly in September, paving the way for early assembly election. The Congress, the BJP, and the Telangana Rashtra Samithi party are in the front run for the control of the 119-seat assembly.


Individuals present in Rajasthan and Telangana are advised to monitor the situation and to stay away from polling places and any demonstrations due to the possibility of violence.

For unlimited access to Crisis24 security alerts, simply register for free.

2 free alert views remaining this 30-day period
Register for Free Already registered? Sign-in